Not quite a Winter Wonderland

I attended this event in London’s Hyde Park with my brother’s family who have four young children and as a fun fair type attraction thought it would be ideal.  Additional attractions included Ice Skating and a Big Observation Wheel – and this being the festive season Santa’s Grotto type attractions – though Christmas Day being 4 day’s over the appeal of this seemed a bit spent to me but that is no doubt the bah humbug adult in me!

The usual gamut of rides and attractions with plenty of food and drink stands thrown in were on offer.

The treat was on me and I loaded up at the entrance with £50’s worth of tickets thinking this would be more than enough. How wrong I was. Perhaps this was the naivety of an uncle with no children! – and had I been a parent and one who lived in London at that I would have had a different expectation of how much this event would likely cost.

In fact hundreds of pounds are needed to be spent to take advantage of most of the attractions on offer. We went on a few of them such as The Ghost Train and Snow Slide but quickly made our way back to the exit and onto a restaurant in Victoria. This was not to say the children did not enjoy themselves just that there was a disappointment of not being able to take part in most of what was on offer.

As I am not one of those who knows the cost of everything and the value of nothing I shall not be returning to this event which is open November to January each year – not even alone!

Your thoughts and feelings are always welcome. First time commenters are currently being moderated due to increase in spam.

