Rihanna – Cheers (Drink to Her)

There are singers who I just don’t get.

Lady Gaga is one – I can understand her in theory but in practice her songs feel conventional and unremarkable.

If I want exotic give me La Roux and her creative and soulful pop confections.

I don’t want you to think I am a music snob who turns their nose up purely because something is popular.  I love Britney, Beyonce and Pink for example.

But Lady Gaga’s popularity puzzles me – perhaps I will succumb and I remain open – I certainly can’t avoid her!

Pepsi Super Bowl Bash

Rihanna was another whose success I did not get. Sure Umbrella was a catchy enough tune but most of her pop songs I found unmemorable.  Until Only Girl In The World. A few plays on the radio and the song had me hooked.  Then I heard her latest single S&M and again it got under my skin – now I was beginning to get her!

I sought out her current album Loud and on just one play I could resist no longer – more than just ‘getting her’ I was a fan!

Complicated, Skin, California King Bed – pop anthems all.

Cheers (Drink To That) another anthem though I’m not hearing that on the mainstream radio anytime soon!

And what a voice.

We’ll drink to that!

My Zimbio
KudoSurf Me!

One thought on “Rihanna – Cheers (Drink to Her)

Your thoughts and feelings are always welcome. First time commenters are currently being moderated due to increase in spam.

